Remembrance Ceremony for Jewish Refugees

19.08.1999:: Caux Switzerland

The duty of remembrance, and refugees past and present were recalled in Caux, Switzerland, this morning. A plaque was installed at the foot of an oak tree planted in 1997 to mark the 1,400 Jews who had been housed in the Caux-Palace in 1944 - and in memory of those who were turned back at the frontier. The simple plaque looks out over the breath-taking view over the Lake of Geneva to the Franco-Swiss pre-Alps. The text on the plaque reads: ' In remembrance of the Jewish refugees who stayed here, and of those who were not admitted to enter Switzerland during World War II. We shall not forget.'

Plaque
Click on the picture to make it bigger.

Claude Ruey, the President of the Vaud Cantonal Government sent a message - he was unable to attend in person as he was held up by a press conference on the sadly still current problem of refugees. Ruey described memory as 'one of the most noble, the highest virtues of man'.

Speaking to the Jewish people, he stressed that theirs was 'a destiny so exceptional, so cruel, that it now belonged, like an emblem, to all mankind. A destiny that had left deep and terrible marks on our history, despite monstrous and dishonest attempts' to blur or deny it.

History needed to be looked straight in the face, without blinking, Ruey went on. The duty to remember was 'a painful virtue for the Swiss'. The past should not be recalled in order to condemn the present, but the memory of the elders 'should serve to instruct the younger generations'. The Canton of Vaud would not prove lacking in the courage to do this. For him, the past revealed both the grandeur and the weakness of mankind, 'the mean and contemptible behaviour of some; the courageous, determined and uncompromising actions of others'. He concluded, 'Truth is a constant quest, made up of looking ahead and of memory.'

The Mayor of Montreux, Pierre Salvi, spoke, noting that in early 1945, his town, with its population of 16,000 inhabitants had sheltered 4,000 wounded, deported and refugees, including those Jews housed in the Caux-Palace, then called the Hotel Esplanade. It was important to face past wrongs, he went on. 'Mankind is inclined to forget, and so repeat past errors,' he continued, but one shouldn't surrender to discouragement. Today the region again sheltered several hundred refugees. He wished the Caux conferences success, and described their aims as: 'Healing the wounds of the past, and so allowing us to envisage a more peaceful future of tolerance, forgiveness, of amity between peoples. All of us are concerned,' he concluded.

In the words of the organisers of the event, 'the installation of the commemorative plaque and the modest ceremony are an expression of the desire to learn the lessons from the past and build a shared future less weighed down with the baggage past.' One of the Protestant church ministers from Montreux, Olivier Fonjallaz, read a prayer, and one of the organisers read Psalm 70 at the request of Rabbi Hervé Krief, from Lausanne, who was unable to attend in person. Also present were participants in the Moral Re-Armament conference entitled: 'A Conversation on aims and values for the 21st century'. In solidarity with the refugees of today, representatives of the five continents lit candles.

- Andrew Stallybrass, Christoph Spreng

News:

12 July 2011: Ruth-Gaby Vermot-Mangold presented the ‘No Women – No Peace’ temporary exhibition in the CAUXexpo.

>>read the article


5 July 2011: ‘No women – no peace’ exhibition opens in Caux: A striking temporary exhibition on women peace-makers from around the world was opened today for the summer conference season in the CAUXexpo.

>>read the article

WebDesign 2004 - activmedia

La pose d'une plaque à la mémoire des réfugiés juifs

19.08.1999:: Caux Switzerland

Le devoir de mémoire et les réfugiés d'hier et d'aujourd'hui ont été évoqués à Caux ce matin. Une plaque a été posée au pied du chêne planté en 1997 pour marquer le passage des 1400 juifs hébergés au Caux-Palace en 1944 - et en souvenir de ceux refoulés à la frontière. La plaque simple est placée devant la vue imprenable de Caux sur le Léman et les préalpes franco-suisses. On y lit : «En mémoire des réfugiés juifs hébergés ici pendant la 2ème guerre mondiale, et en mémoire de ceux qui ont été refoulés à la frontière suisse. Nous ne les oublierons pas.»

Plaque
Cliquez sur la photo pour l'agrandir

Claude Ruey,le Président du Conseil d'État du Canton de Vaud, a envoyé un message - il ne pouvait pas y être en personne à cause d'une conférence de presse sur le problème malheureusement toujours actuel des réfugiés. Ruey a décrit la mémoire comme «l'une de plus nobles et des plus hautes vertus de l'homme».

S'adressant au peuple juif, il a souligné «un destin si singulier et cruel qu'il appartient désormais, tel un emblème, à l'humanité entière. Un destin qui, envers et contre toutes les tentatives malhonnêtes et monstrueuses, a laissé de profondes et terribles marques dans l'histoire.»

Il faut regarder la vérité historique en face, sans ciller, et avec courage, a poursuivi Ruey, mais le devoir de mémoire est «une vertu douloureuse pour la Suisse ». Il ne s'agit pas de rappeler le passé pour condamner le présent, mais «la mémoire des anciens doit servir à édifier les générations plus jeunes et le canton de Vaud ne manque pas de courage ». Ce passé révèle, pour lui, la grandeur et la faiblesse de l'homme, «mesquin et méprisant pour certains ; courageux, déterminé et sans complaisance pour d'autres ». Il a conclu : « La vérité est une quête constante, faite à la fois de prospection et de mémoire.»

Le syndic de Montreux, Pierre Salvi, a rappelé dans son allocution qu'au début de 1945, sa ville, avec une population de 16'000 habitants avait accueilli 4'000 blessés, déportés et autres réfugiés, dont les juifs dans le Caux-Palace, rebaptisé Hôtel Esplanade. Il est important de faire son mea culpa, a-t-il dit. Pour lui, «l'homme est enclin à oublier et à renouveler les erreurs commises », d'où l'importance de ne pas baisser les bras. La région accueille aujourd'hui plusieurs centaines de réfugiés. Il a fait le lien avec la vocation du centre de rencontres occupant l'hôtel aujourd'hui : «la guérison des blessures du passé permettant d'envisager un avenir plus serein, de tolérance, de pardon, d'amour entre les peuples. Chacun d'entre nous est concerné.»

Au dire des organisateurs, «la pose de la plaque commémorative et la modeste cérémonie s'inscrivent dans le désir de tirer les leçons du passé dans une perspective d'avenir moins encombrée et partagée par tous. » Le pasteur de Montreux Olivier Fonjallaz, a prononcé une prière, et à la demande du rabbin Hervé Krief de Lausanne, empêché de venir, un des organisateurs a lu le psaume 70. Étaient présents des participants venant du monde entier pour la dernière session des conférences d'été intitulé «Objectifs et valeurs pour le 21ème siècle». En solidarité avec les réfugiés d'aujourd'hui, des représentants des cinq continents ont allumé des bougies. Les six semaines de rencontres pour le Réarmement moral à Caux placés sous le thème «Une page nouvelle, un nouveau départ» continuent jusqu'à dimanche.

- Andrew Stallybrass, Christoph Spreng

Nouvelles:

12 juillet 2011: La féministe et militante suisse Ruth-Gaby Vermot-Mangold a présenté l’exposition temporaire « Sans les femmes - Pas de paix » aux participants du Forum de Caux pour la Sécurité Humaine.

>>lire l'article


5 juillet 2011: L'exposition temporaire « Sans les femmes - Pas de paix » a été inaugurée au musée CAUXexpo.

>>lire la suite

WebDesign 2004 - activmedia